Are Memories What You Have Or What You’ve Lost?

I knew all week that today would be a lazy day where I slept as much as possible. This week I had deadlines that weren’t for my job, but rather for my career. So, even if it was just a matter of paperwork (a massive amount of it, to be sure), I had to throw myself into it which meant getting very little sleep.

After resting up all night and all morning, I had an apartment to myself, a bottle of red wine and a bag of wasabi peas. I love wasabi peas. You never know whether this next pea is going to spice up your mouth and overheat your head (hmm, that didn’t come out quite right. Do I have a fetish I didn’t know about?). And if you do get the pea that opens up on a sensitive area in your tongue or throat, that’s reason to keep the wine handy.

Rested, drunk, and having orally climaxed numerous times from the peas, I channel surfed my way to an airing of Another Woman, one of Woody Allen’s “serious” films from his Bergman period. I’d only ever seen Interiors before and had been curious about this on. I’m not really going to discuss the plot or themes of the movie. You can find that here. Gena Rowlandson, after abandoning a lifetime of self-deception, ended the movie by saying “I wondered if a memory is something you have or something you’ve lost.”

If you haven’t noticed, I’m actually kind of shallow, but this question moved me to a couple of seconds of soul searching until I remembered that Batman Forever was still on; laundry to do; is there any wine left?

Nevertheless, I am left asking when it was that they stopped making movies for adults? Not necessarily even the deep ones. I remember seeing one from the seventies about two couples and wife-swapping, even though I was a kid when it first came out. I mean, back then kids movies even depicted children as smaller adults. Take the Bad News Bears, for example. They were all just tiny variants of adult personalities. For a time, adults were considered a viable market. Did the demographic decrease? Is our money simply no enough to make the production of a film meant for our sensibilities profitable? Did the consumer base get split somehow by Spike Lee and Black Cinema along with the New Queer Cinema, Chick Flicks, blockbusters, and a bunch of other movements? I really have no clue about this since it’s not remotely my field. Anyone have any ideas about this?

Leave a Reply

