New Books!

What did darkessatnoon get for his birthday other than a heaping pile of grief due to the proximity of his personal September 11th?*

lurches sent me an amazon gift certificate with which I ordered Essays in Existentialism by Sartre (for my forthcoming post “Styles of Bad Faith”), as well as two books by Tao Lin whose obnoxious blogging irritates me to no end. These are the novel Eeeee Eee Eeee and his short stories, Bed. They came along with a curious book of short stories by Miranda July, No one belongs here more than you.

Finally, and utterly coincidentally, a review copy of Mick Taussig’s My Cocaine Museum landed on my desk last week. I attended the early lectures upon which this book is based, and I can already assure you that there is some extreme bullshit going on inside this book. Review forthcoming.

Oh, also during last night’s insomnia, I found my Bedford “Case Studies in Contemporary Criticism” edition of Gulliver’s Travels. This was a Nortonish series of books that would publish a piece of the canon and then follow it with essays that “illuminate” the text with readings from various perspectives such as ‘the’ Deconstructionist, New Historicist, Feminist, and Reader Response takes on Gulliver’s Travels. It’s a laughably stiff approach to literary criticism, as if after reading a series of these books undergraduates would find not only their knowledge of Swift increased but also critical theory. It’s as push-button as you can possibly get. What’s fantastic is that my theory-hating national treasure, Dreamboat TC, wrote the essay on deconstruction. “A Deconstructionist Perspective.” Seriously. Because Swift is ripe for a touch of Derrida. Let the hilarity ensue. And the sad thing is, hers isn’t the worst essay of the mess!

So it’s going to be a Merry Christmas here if I can sneak some time from my days off to finish reading and review a couple of these. Otherwise, look for more from me in the New Year.

Oh, and to reward loyal readers, I now grace you with a photo of George (right; upraised eyebrows; skeptical look) and Harry (left; kinked tail). One day, I will permit you to see a picture of their sister, 7(e).


*Yes, I know some of you are displeased by my use of the real September 11th as a metaphor, however, I’m equally bothered by other people’s boring mention of the real September 11th, therefore we’re even.

3 Responses to “New Books!”

  1. Zed Says:

    I’m not displeased. I find it hilarious — but only because I know you’re serious.

  2. darknessatnoon Says:

    That’s because I’m a very serious person.

  3. Victoria J. van Dijk Says:

    IRONY FAILURE ALERT:Some seem to have missed the point of the “personal September 11th post.” As I understand it, it’s a parody of the irritating Tao Lin. (Is Tao Lin a “public intellectual” or does he presume to be? Don’t get me going on how I despise the whole concept of the “public intellectual.”)

Leave a Reply

