Agreements/Disagreements

I. We Disagree

At this blog, we agree with luches‘ conclusion that love = stalking. In fact, we have probably stated this first and then forgotten it, but we will give her credit anyway because if we did say something to this effect we were probably distraught, drunk and high when saying it. My brother contradicts this view. He asserts that love is possible without stalking. I did not understand what he meant until I realized he was discussing ‘American Love.’ It’s sort of like ‘American Cheese’ — a, fattening, watered down oily mess that shouldn’t exist in reality, yet is on sale everywhere.

My foundational opinions on stalking, however, were recently rocked. In The Player, by Michael Tolkin, I am discovering a novel about stalking that doesn’t include the ‘love’ factor. In Tolkin’s book, Hollywood producer Griffin Mill is hunted and harassed by a writer whom he has failed to call back with a deal. Mill’s response to this is obsessive. He attempts to communicate symbolically, through the ether, with his harasser, by looking through his appointment book and seeking out writers whom he has led on during pitch meetings with the implicit understanding that when he doesn’t call them back, nothing will come of the pitch. Mill strangles another writer to death, certain that reading about a dead writer’s body in the papers will intimidate the Writer who is sending him angry post-cards. Mill’s existence focalizes entirely on the Writer to the point where large parts of the narration consists of ‘thought-projections’ to his stalker.

In discussing this book with a colleague, a disagreement has arisen. Can there be a stalking novel without love? Would that make every detective novel, for example, a novel about stalking, thereby watering down the category? Or does the non-erotic yet obsessive quality of The Player put it in a class all its own?

II. We Agree

It’s always a miscalculation when people copy Dat to an email without blind-copying everyone else. Yesterday, someone sent out the usual ‘how friendly to gays are Obama and Clinton, really?’ question that is a common filler piece in gay media. Dat replied-to-all with the following:

I AM HOMOPHOBIC!!!!!!!
AND READING ABOUT “GAYS!!!!” MAKE ME WANT TO VOTE REPUBLICAN….I would happily vote for any democrat for any other reason other then GAY RIGHTS.

  • I DONT CARE TO EVER GET MARRIED!!!
  • I HATE SEEING FUCKNG GAYS ROLLING AROUND THEIR DAMN STROLLER W/SOME BRAT THEY’RE RAISING THAT THEY JUST BOUGHT ON SOME TRIP TO THE SUDAN OR GUATAMALA OR WHATEVER
  • I DON’T WANT TO DIE FOR MY FUCKING COUNTRY SHOOTING SOME OTHER MONOTHEISTIC GOD – FREAKS….YOU DON’T HAVE TO ASK BUT I WILL TELL
  • THIS FANTASY THAT WE ARE SO IMPORTANT, IT’S ALMOST AS SELF ABSORBED AS BEING AN AMERICAN KKKRISTIAN.
  • OHH AND I HATED PRINCESS DI….I BARFED WHEN ELTON JOHN RE-PACKAGED THAT PATHETIC CRAP AND EVERYONE BOUGHT IT

This blog is in complete agreement with the opinions ranted above. If you disagree, you should probably go read some other blog.

III. We Agree

Karl Lagerfeld looks disgusting, however, we agree with absolutely everything he says in these interview excerpts. In particular, we are moved by the following statement:

Diane von Furstenberg told me she thinks you may not be the best designer aesthetically, but that you’re by far the smartest.
And look at her prints, hmm? Maybe I’ve known her for too many years. Maybe she’s right, I don’t know. If she were an expert, perhaps her designs may be more impressive…I’m not a frustrated writer or architect, I’m frustrated by nothing at all, and frustration is the mother of all crimes. Ambition? I have no ambition. I just want things in a certain way… I don’t want to be a teacher. I don’t want to inform others through myself. In that way, it’s all for myself. I’m the most selfish person in the world. Being selfish, I take care of others. My mother always used to say, “Don’t sacrifice yourself too much, because if you sacrifice too much there’s nothing else you can give and nobody will care for you.”

I also agree with him that ‘people who eat’ and ‘places with other people’ are démodé. More on my soulmate can be found here, as well (if you can stand to give The New Yorker increased site traffic).

2 Responses to “Agreements/Disagreements”

  1. Zed Says:

    Do you need a Venn diagram here? Is love a subset of stalking? Do you wish to draw a distinction between hate and love, or do you see them as the same?

  2. darknessatnoon Says:

    Zed,You’re a smart guy. Did you ever not learn what an “=” sign means in school?Why would I draw a distinction between love and hate?

Leave a Reply

